April 2012 Blog Posts (11)

Big Geo Data: Panel, Workshop, GeoVocamp

Dear colleagues,

I hope that this is of interest for you and may start some interesting discussions during the face-to-face meeting next week. The following link points to a Website of the 'Big Data in Geographic Information Science Panel 2012' which focused on semantic heterogeneity. It contains 97 minutes of video recording as well as all slides from the…

Continue

Added by Krzysztof Janowicz on April 26, 2012 at 1:14am — No Comments

Implementation-independent Requirements for Semantics

I am convinced that the core requirements for semantics software are quite basic and community-independent.

  • The semantics software must exist as an independent component. This could either be an SOA service or a well defined API, or an API capable of connecting to a service. The primary purpose of this component is to annotate resources managed externally (e.g., in a repository, on an FTP site, web services managed by you or someone else...)
  • The semantics software must…
Continue

Added by Bryce Nordgren on April 25, 2012 at 11:03am — No Comments

Semantics for Dummies

I am not an ontologist. I understand only the basics about what semantic technologies are good for. And even then I had to draw a picture. Ontologies don't fill the same role as UML class diagrams do in the realm of software engineering.

Now of course, there are lots of ways to comprehensively map…

Continue

Added by Bryce Nordgren on April 24, 2012 at 5:09pm — 7 Comments

Brokering Principles for EarthCube - What is your definition of a broker?

The Brokering team has added a document on "Brokering Principles for EarthCube". The group collaboratively wrote this document to layout the current problems that brokering addresses and to begin to create a definition of what a brokering framework is.

The image below gives one sample brokering framework, but is not the only solution. This group is looking for community…

Continue

Added by Erin Robinson on April 24, 2012 at 1:59pm — 1 Comment

Current IETF Federated Filesystem and Identity Efforts

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is working on creating a standardized method of federating fileservers, and they are also working on using Security Assertion Markup Language (SAML) based identity federations as a source of principals in RPC (read: non-web based) applications. These are current activities in a completely transparent organization which does not charge membership fees. If you have expertise in these areas, I believe the EarthCube effort could greatly benefit from…

Continue

Added by Bryce Nordgren on April 24, 2012 at 12:54pm — No Comments

Data Management and Grid Technologies

Preface

By way of introduction, I thought it best to post this white paper I wrote up not too long ago. Being from US Forest Service Research and Development, I am neither from the geosciences community, nor am I able to petition the NSF for funds. However, we may share some common concerns and/or obstacles, and hence I may be able to leverage some of the solutions you generate. This white paper should give…

Continue

Added by Bryce Nordgren on April 24, 2012 at 11:00am — No Comments

More thoughts on double-loop organizations

I've been delving into the literature on double-loop learning and organizational managment (and innovation too) and I've got some ideas that might be of service. And I would love some feedback too.

Double Loop Virtual Organizations

Added by Bruce Caron on April 23, 2012 at 3:23pm — No Comments

A paper on Geoinformatics

I just posted a copy of a paper on Geoinformatics (written for geoscientists). Some may find it useful, as we seek to engage a broad spectrum of geoscientists in semantics/ontology group activities. The pdf file is on my website.

Added by Krishna Sinha on April 11, 2012 at 10:13am — 1 Comment

Dear Colleagues,   The Governance Workshop Steering Committee cordially invites you to participate in the virtual workshop plenary session for outlining a Governance Roadmap for EarthCube.    Option …

Dear Colleagues,

 

The Governance Workshop Steering Committee cordially invites you to participate in the virtual workshop plenary session for outlining a Governance Roadmap for EarthCube. 

 

Option 1: Wednesday, April 11, 2012 from 11am to 1pm EDT (8am to 10am PDT, 9am to 11am MDT, 10am to noon CDT)

 

Option 2: Tuesday, April 17, 2012 from 3pm to 5pm EDT (noon to 2pm PDT, 1pm to 3pm MDT, 2pm to 4pm CDT)

 

The session will…

Continue

Added by Kim Patten on April 6, 2012 at 8:16pm — No Comments

Spatial Semantics for Better Interoperability and Analysis: Challenges and Experiences in Building Semantically Rich Applications in Web 3.0

Over the past 20 years, the Web has moved from Web 1.0 (circa 1990) — document web — to Web 2.0 (circa 2003) — Read-Write Web with broad variety of social data including user generated content (UGC) — to Web 3.0 (circa 2010). A key characteristic of Web 3.0 is the inclusion of a broad variety of data – including traditional structured databases and extracted data, social data, sensor data (including those generated by mobile and internet connected devices), historical and…

Continue

Added by Amit Sheth on April 4, 2012 at 2:00pm — No Comments

Connect with EarthCube!

Members

Forum

Logos available in EarthCube documents folder.

PNG and PDF versions of the new logo are now available for use in our Google Drive folder. Click the "Documents" tab above and then the EarthCube Logos folder.Continue

Started by Kate Kretschmann Nov 4, 2013.

© 2014   Created by Dennis Carey.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations presented in this material are only those of the presenter grantee/researcher, author, or agency employee; and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.